My Two Personal Picks at Costa Coffeeshop in Eastwood, QC

image

When I was in Rome during the summer of this year, I would wake up around seven in the morning to head out to this Tabacalera, a little shop up in the corner of my hotel, for my morning caffeine fix of ‘doppio macchiato’. By far, this little unassuming shop really made a good cup for me. There were other tourists and regulars waiting patiently to be served their cup, too. Standing with them around the coffee bar counter, I would sip my ‘doppio macchiato’ strong and pure without any sugar. The best so far in my European trip. It was so good that I would ask for two orders of ‘doppio macchiato’ every morning I was there. To pair with it, I would order a single croissant with strawberry or peach jam.

What is a doppio macchiato you may ask? It is a double shot of espresso with a dash of milk. The milk is steamed to create a froth and then poured on top of the espresso. I have grown accustomed to drinking this every morning in Rome before I started my day. Then I would head back to the hotel with a take-out breakfast of single croissant, apricot jam, hot chocolate and freshly squeezed orange juice for my daughter.

When I came home to the Philippines, I vowed to myself that I would search for the best and nearest ‘doppio macchiato’ I could find. So once back in Manila, my search took me to this newcomer coffee shop named Costa which opened this year in Eastwood, Quezon City. Costa Coffee may be a newcomer to Manila but they are the largest coffee chain in the UK with over 2,900 stores located across 30 countries. Brought to the Philippines by Robinson’s Retail Holdings, Costa will be opening many more branches nationwide to bring their freshly brewed coffees and desserts to you.

Costa got its name from the two Italian brothers Sergio & Bruno Costa who founded Costa Coffee in 1971 in Lambeth, London and supplied their popular slow-roasted blend Mocha Italia to their clientele of coffee shops and caterers.

image

(Launched and opened this year, Costa Eastwood Branch presents a two-storey coffee shop with a very homey and warm interiors and colors of deep red, browns and black. A distinct, red telephone booth stands outside the entrance of the coffee shop reminiscent of the real thing in London.)

image

And as you go up the stairs with your coffee and pastry, you will see cute corners and nooks like these with sofas to hang out and enjoy your cup or work or chat with long lost friends.

image

image

And if like me, you prefer to enjoy a smaller table to hang out in and enjoy your coffee, I would choose to sit in this colorful individual chairs for more privacy.

image

With just the Christmas Holiday Season around the corner, I couldn’t help but notice the festive holiday drink Costa was offering on my way out: Caramel Popcorn Latte Frosting. What it is, is an ice blended coffee infused with popcorn flavour and bits with swirled caramel and topped with cream and caramel popcorn. When I tasted it, it was a light, cold coffee dessert which reminded me of Christmas snow falling which warmed my heartstrings with every sip. At Php165 per cup, it is worth the purchase while you share the special moment with a friend or a special someone.

I had mine “to-go” and enjoyed every sip as I walked to my next meeting.
image

