Weekend Staycation at Marco Polo Ortigas: A Hotel Review

image
Marco Polo Ortigas lobby and reception located on the 24th floor.

I had a grueling week and wanted to get out of Manila for the weekend for some rest and relaxation but just did not have enough time to plan  and prepare for it.  So instead, I decided to have a weekend staycation at Marco Polo Hotel in Ortigas where I had the opportunity to stay on a weekend to review it.  

Marco Polo Ortigas is a 5-star hotel with 316 luxurious suites and bedrooms located in the Ortigas commercial and business district along Meralco Avenue.  What I like about this hotel is its central location because it is smack in the middle of Makati and Quezon City. Aside from that, it is also accessible by both Edsa and C-5 making it  very easy to get to, in case either road is congested with traffic.    

Reception

The check-in was quick and hassle-free. They asked for my credit card information then signed some check-in document.  Then I was guided to my room in the 32nd floor. To get there, my room card was needed at the elevator for 32nd floor access. I liked this added security feature of hotels nowadays because it assures you of added security for you and your family.  

My Room:  Superior Twin Room

image

image

I loved the Superior Twin Room I got.  Superior rooms range from 38-55 sqm. I enjoyed two fluffy beds that could accommodate at least 4 adults or two adults with two children.  The interiors of the room was very chic and had earth-tone colors which was very relaxing.  The room had very strong WI-FI which was very much appreciated and a nespresso coffee machine that made sure I stay awake while writing my review and articles. 

I enjoyed the toilet and bath very much with its bath tub as well as the rain shower which really made the bathing and shower experience a soothing and relaxing experience with their sweet-smelling shower gels, shampoo and conditioner products.  They smell so good, you would take a shower twice just to enjoy the luxurious gels and soaps all over again.

image
Complimentary shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, soap and bath salts.
image
Complimentary box of goodies containing good quality toothbrushes, toothpaste, and lotion.

Facilities: 

Flow – Asmara Spa

I was thrilled when I visited and was shown around Asmara Spa on the 22nd floor.  They offer many kinds of massages like Swedish, flow signature massage, aromatherapy, hot and cold stone massages, hilot, ventosa and shiatsu.  Services such as body and foot scrubs as well as facials are also offered if that is your pleasure.  Massages and scrubs services range from 2,500 to 4,800.

image
This is the couple’s room for a day of pampering to ease away tension and stress acquired during your work week. Body and foot massages as well as scrubs are all done here. You can be assured of a relaxing, tension-relieving massages done in privacy by a professional masseuse.
image
For those who do not have the luxury of a full body massage, you may also enjoy Foot Bliss services where the feet is pampered with massage, reflexology and foot spa.

Flow – Fitness Centre / Gym

image

image

I got excited when I saw the gym. It would be awesome  to still be able to exercise and burn calories and do cardio exercises  at the treadmill, elliptical machine and the bike during my travels.  They also have weights machines and dumbbells to keep those muscles toned if that is your fancy.

Swimming Pool

image

When you come to Marco Polo for a weekend staycation, make sure you bring your swimsuit so you can do your laps at the pool.  They have a very nice, long pool where you can do your laps and burn calories.  For this particular weekend, there were too many people enjoying the indoor pool which will make your laps a bit difficult, so I suggest you swim early for an uninterrupted swim.

The Continental Club 
 
image

image

The Continental Club is located on the 44th floor.  There is a reception area that offers personalized  check in and check out for today’s discerning business travelers.  As I was shown around, the room exuded of privacy, exclusivity and luxury.  I was informed that if you are staying at any floor lower than the 40th floor, by adding P1,600/per head, one is given the Continental Club access so you can take your breakfast there, have complimentary coffee and cocktail drinks at dusk.  If you are in a business trip and need a place to meet up with people for a meeting, they have a boardroom and a conference room for such a purpose.

Buffet Breakfast at Cucina

Depending on what room you paid for, you have the option to get a room with complimentary breakfast for two or none at all.  I enjoyed a complimentary breakfast that was both sumptuous and filling.  Breakfast at Cucina is open from 6am until 10am.  I went around 9am because I wanted to have brunch.  When I arrived, Cucina was jam-packed perhaps because the breakfast was really delicious.

image
Soups and sauces section.
image
Pancake, waffles and doughnuts section with an assorted choice of sauces.
image
This is the Egg section. They can prepare your eggs however you like, be it sunny side-up, plain omelette or with everything on it.

image

image
This is the sausage and bacon section. You just point at whatever sausage you like and the chef will cook it for you to perfection.

All in all, I enjoyed my overnight stay in Marco Polo Hotel in Ortigas.  I had a very relaxing and peaceful stay in the hotel and was able to get the rest and relaxation I needed to be revived for another week.  The service is great, the rooms and amenities are superb and the location is awesome as malls like The Podium, Robinson’s Galleria, SM Megamall and Shangrila Mall are just nearby should you like to hang out in the mall for shopping, a meal or watch a movie.  It was a great choice that I spend my weekend here and one day when I am in need again of another weekend staycation , I will not hesitate to come back here again.  For me,  Marco Polo Ortigas has fast become my weekend home away from home!

MARCO POLO ORTIGAS, MANILA
Meralco Ave. & Sapphire St.
Ortigas Center, Pasig City 1600
Tel: (+632) 720.7777

jit-1.jpg.jpeg

