Breakfast by the Ruins!  

Cafe by the Ruins, 25 Shuntug Rd. Baguio City 2600, Benguet

image

Cafe by the Ruins is a pretty popular dining place judging by the many  reviews and posts I see online.  I have heard many good reviews about it so I wanted to check it out myself. Apparently there is another branch that is  newer and more modern named Cafe by the Ruins Dua. Dua means 2 or 2nd, being the second branch in the city.  But I decided to visit the original branch because of its unique interiors reminiscent of a real ruin.  The original Cafe by the Ruins is farther to get to in terms of distance, its one-way road and the traffic in Baguio City doesn’t seem to help give the impression that it is really far to get to.

image
Cafe by the Ruins located in 25 Shuntug Road, Baguio City, Benguet.

I arrived here around 9:30 in the morning and the place was swinging with people excited for their breakfast.  I was just in time, there was an empty table just for me, because I was really looking forward to having breakfast here.  

After placing my order, I had time to explore the restaurant.

Pasalubong Section

Breads are freshly baked daily at the Cafe by the Ruins Dua branch for the daily consumption of the two cafes as well as supply for the Cafe’s pasalubong section with many different products such as home-made breads (kamote, basil, ensaymada, scones, pan de sal, bollilos, croissant,  sticky buns); arabica coffee, fish roe bagoong, Malagos chocolate and muscovado sugar.

image
Cafe by the Ruins' Pasalubong Corner mainly composed of a variety of home-made products.
image
Signature kamote bread
image
Basil bread

Interior Photos:

image

image
This is the eye-catching and purposely “ruined” wall of Cafe by the Ruins that gives the Cafe its unique and rustic “Ruin” look.

image

As a starter, I chose to have their signature home-made Kamote bread paired with home-made Strawberry jam and liver terrine spread.  It was the perfect food to start with to drive away an urgent hunger and a very delicious combination too.  The slightly salty taste of the liver terrine balanced the sweetness of the strawberry jam on kamote bread. 

image
The slightly salty taste of the liver terrine balanced the sweetness of the strawberry jam on tasty kamote bread.

Filipino Long-si-log is Ruins’ version of a sexy longganisa, stripped naked of its skin, cubed then served with sunny-side-up egg and your choice of garlic rice or pan de sal.  I wasn’t too happy with the longganisa because I am partial to my longganisa a bit on the sweet side.  Because my breakfast was already rich (longganisa and liver terrine), I opted for a strong brewed coffee made of arabica coffee supplied by an Ibaloi family for my breakfast brew.

image
Cafe de Ruins' naked Longganisa breakfast

After eating my hearty breakfast, I had a chance to study their menu and found out that many of their products are by choice sourced locally in Benguet as well as many parts of the country. There is the Malagos tablea chocolate tablets used in their hot tsokolate drink from Davao, organic vegetables, local honey and tapuy (a fermented rice wine)  from Benguet; carabao’s milk and cheeses from Carabao Centre of Nueva Ecija;  ducks from Laguna; seafood from Bolinao and Agoo as well as bangus from Dagupan.  Even their crew’s uniform use textile from Paoay, Ilocos Norte.   

This  is what I immediately loved about Cafe by the Ruins. An establishment creating delicious food everyday and committed to supporting the Filipino farmer by buying ingredients from them.  Another great reason for you to come to Baguio, taste as well as experience breakfast, lunch or dinner at the Cafe by the Ruins.  

image

