Discovering Mt. Cloud Bookshop

Casa Vallejo, Upper Session Road
Baguio City, 2600

image

I found this charming bookshop in Upper Session Road right below SM Baguio.  I was eating lunch at Hill Station Restaurant and afterwards had the opportunity to explore this 3-storey white house with multi-establishments sharing the same house.

image

When you enter from the inside of HillStation Restaurant, you will see a hallway on the right side with a mural artwork of a young woman sitting down, reading a book while swirls of magical knowledge emanate from the book leading towards the bookshop entrance.

image

image

image

Mt. Cloud Bookshop is an independent bookstore in Baguio City that opened in 2010.  The bookshop contains an interesting mix of rare as well as popular literary and scholarly books.  It is also a great venue to showcase your works if you are an independent writer or small publishing house.

The owners intended Mt. Cloud Bookshop to be the literary melting pot for intellectuals, artist and book lovers to come together to enjoy their love for reading books.

image

image

image

image

I enjoyed exploring this bookstore but before I started taking photos I had a strange experience with the store cashier when I asked her permission to take photos of the bookstore.  I told her nicely that I am a blogger and would love to feature Mt. Cloud Bookshop in my blog site and if it is okay to take photos inside.  She said with a tired expression in her face: Thank you but we would really appreciate it if you would buy a book or make a donation in the donation box instead.  I was dumbfounded by her words.  I don’t think she realizes that my blog can do more than just put a few pesos in the donation box.  I can do better by informing my readers because I know for a fact there are many of you out there who both love to travel and love reading books and I have no doubt that one day you too will visit this place.

image

Nevertheless, I did not allow this incident to stop me from blogging about Mt. Cloud Bookshop as I am a book-lover myself and would like to share this charming bookstore to you my dear readers.  I would like to think that the cashier was just tired and over-worked that day and perhaps on a good day would have responded more appropriately.

