HILL STATION : A Restaurant on a Hill Top

Casa Vallejo, Upper Session Road, 2600 Baguio City

image

I have been waiting for the perfect opportunity to visit Hill Station Restaurant up in Upper Session Road  and after a hectic morning of walking around, this was in my mind, the perfect place to have lunch.  Hill Station is the fine dining restaurant of Casa Vallejo, a 24-room boutique hotel that also houses other interesting establishments such as Mt. Cloud Bookshop, Cinematheque Baguio, North Haven Spa and  Lagalag.

image

image
The renovated historic Casa Vallejo circa 1909, considered to be one of the oldest institutions in Baguio City, as seen from the outside.

The old, green and white renovated house of Casa Vallejo where Hill Station restaurant is found is a story in itself.  Considered to be one of the oldest institutions in Baguio, it still maintains its old-world charm despite being renovated and modernized, making your dining experience at Hill Station really  something to remember.

image

image

image
This is my best table in the restaurant, a corner nook promising the most exquisite view of Baguio City. You can even open one of the smaller windows to let the cold mountain air in to refresh you.

image

image

image
Spinach and Mushroom Ravioli

After checking the extensive menu,  I ordered the Spinach and Mushroom Ravioli on a bed of squash puree, topped with ‘Milagros’ blue cheese sauce with home-made bread on the side to soak up that golden squash sauce.  When my food arrived, I admired it for a minute, mindful of the extent of work that entailed in making fresh ravioli.  I know how the ravioli got its flecks of green and how each delicate pocket was filled with the mushroom filling.  It is poetry served in a plate much too pretty to be eaten.  I hope it tastes as delicious as it looks.  The verdict:  The ravioli was light and perfect in my mouth while the squash puree was a little bland for my taste. The blue cheese sauce didn’t help much with the flavour.

image
Smoked Paprika Roasted Salmon

The second dish I tasted was Smoked Paprika Roasted Salmon with Tenderloin Steak served with mashed potato.  I couldn’t decide whether to order a seafood dish or beef and somehow this dish solved my dilemma.  I wasn’t sure at first if it works as a great combination but as soon as I tasted it, I knew It was a good decision. The salmon was flaky and the tenderloin steak was medium well just the way I like it and quite filling too!

image

This grand dual staircase leads upstairs to the second floor where the reception for the Casa Vallejo boutique hotel is located.  Location wise, it is located in the busy section of Baguio very near SM Baguio and Burnham Park.  Next time If I need to stay in a reasonably priced hotel close to the bus station, I will consider this as a great option but I shall be missing the trees and forest of Camp John Hay.  

2 thoughts on “HILL STATION : A Restaurant on a Hill Top

    1. Hi Micah, thanks for dropping by flyingoffcourse. If you want some change from the beach… the trees and cool air of Baguio may be the welcome change. Your Kalanggaman post seems very inviting too. I’ve been eyeing that as a future “drop by”:-) Cheers!

      Like

Comments are closed.