Becoming Leyte Normal University: A Journey of a Hundred Years

This is my high school photo Class 86 (Section 2) taken at the grounds of Leyte State College with our Class Adviser, Mrs. Carina B. Albesa. That’s me on the second row, second girl on her left:-). Photo: Courtesy of Susan Guiang-de Leon.

When my elementary (Batch 82) and high school (Batch 86) classmate Pamela Ros-Damarillo informed me that our dear alma mater, Leyte Normal University (then Leyte Normal School/ Leyte State College ) is holding their Centennial celebration this month, I got inspired to write a piece about this outstanding institution and my memories of it.  

Firstly, 100 years is a feat in itself and for an educational institution to survive that long must have entailed a monumental amount of collective effort, constantly adapting to the needs of the times and vision, therefore, worth celebrating.  Secondly, I enjoyed immensely my formative years there that it’s where I often go when I sleep. In my dream, there is this see-saw in the playground where my female classmates and I often take turns riding it up and down non-stop with an extra push on the way down to make sure we hit earth hard enough to bounce off our seats, sending us into shrieks of laughter. Our hairs wild or in pigtails would be flying in the air and all over our faces in slow motion, our hearbeats elevated with pure joy and excitement.  

Seems silly I know but our memories are important.  They are what makes us who we are… different from one another yet ironically memories are what bind us together no matter where our lives take us down the road.  It gives us a place in time to mark one random moment, special. How glorious to be able to look back one day and say “I’ve been there”, “done this and that with so and so” creating one milestone after another, alone or with others. Now if you keep doing that, you are creating a beautiful thing called Life.

My own memories of LNU is dominated with hours and hours of ballet practice at the Academy of the Arts after school and during summer. Dancing taught me a lot about self-discipline, grace and perseverance.  Our English teachers too were the best of the best whose lifelong dream was to make great communicators and individuals out of their students. My love for growing things was honed at the fertile gardens of the old penal farm in Youngfield. I would walk there with my classmates in the afternoon armed with my bolo wrapped in plastic to soften the earth around the daises and cutcharitas we planted. I love cooking and baking now because my Home Economics class taught me that failure is the first step to making the perfect chiffon cake. 

I am just one of the many who came before me and with me to walk the great halls and grounds of this distinguished school.  It was my pleasure to have the opportunity to hear from classmates and dear teachers I haven’t seen and heard from in years.  Here are some of their own precious memories:

“I think the biggest take away from LSC are meeting lifelong friends and faculty that cared about our success.  It was hard, they were demanding, but they meant well and there was always the reason for each assignment/punishment.  When we came to the US I was academically ahead of my classmates even if we only had 10 years vs 13 years in the US to graduate from high-school.   We were ahead of the learning curve when compared to US HS.  I was tutoring my classmates in math. I also loved running down the stairs of Brillo hall and feeling like there is an earthquake, then playing outside in front of the building and under the old acacia trees. Ding – malabad… used to pull my pig tails, why I remember this, I don’t know.  He remembers it too.” – Connie Lloren, California, USA.

“I thank LNU for my Elementary and Secondary education, my stepping stone in becoming an Engineer. I’ve served LNU as Project Consultant from 2017 to 2018. I was the one who started the new projects they have now.  Dr.Jude Duarte invited me when he learned I was a Normalista. So  congratulations LNU Centennial.” Dennis Tajo, Tacloban City.

“The 7 years that I spent at Leyte Normal University are the most memorable. My classmates are still my most loyal and trusted friends. My teachers were the source of life lessons that continue to guide me to this day. My core values as a doctor and as a citizen were formed by LNU. Congratulations to LNU for having produced graduates who are turning its vision into reality.” -Jerome Hubahib, DR Congo, Africa.

“I was mesmerized by the manner of teaching of Ms. Peachy Cinco. Strict but patient with her students. Will shout at the top of her lungs just for us to hear. She is one heck of a teacher. Well, I loved break time because we can do our thing: play chinese garter, jumping rope, touch and run, day and night, sipa, hide and seek and so on and so forth. There is also the entertainment: choir, ballet, theater etc. Healthy competitions in our class, amongst students – brain and politics indeed will come in.  Thank you to all our teachers who guided us well. We are truly grateful. May our alma mater always give the best to the students. Likewise, the students do their best for their future. Happy 100 years LSC/LNU” -Kathrina V. Pogenio, Metro Manila.

“Even if I was kinda lazy and wasn’t very smart, I managed to get a 97% rating in NCEE. Maybe it’s not much but the memory makes me smile. Our batch passed 100% while others got 99+ that’s why I said “not much”:-) So thank you, LNU. I also want to share my worst memory. While playing “sipa” during one of our vacant period, I fell on my butt! There were boys around and they were stunned to see me down on the ground. I knew them all (some were classmates). I was so embarrassed! Even though my butt hurt, I continued playing and pretended it didn’t hurt.” -Rina Riel-Dolina, Palo Leyte.

Ang natatandaan ko lang e sa sitting arrangement na sandwich niyo ako ni Desiree hehehe ako ang gitna..grade 3 yata tayo noon. Syempre kinilig ako kasi ang galing niyong mga ballet dancer at ang gaganda pa:-) I also remember nakabasag ako ng salamin ni Mrs. Flores when I kicked the soccer ball:-) Siguro ang pinaka lang ay yung honor pupil ako sa kindergarten natin 3rd honor pa cguro and the rest is history hin linurong hahaha. “ -Joel Torres Nicolasora, Tacloban City.

“One happy thought I enjoyed before graduating from high school was when the 3 of us (Rina, Tarita and Me) were chosen to roleplay as religious sisters for our class graduation cosplay. Fortunately and unfortunately , none of us 3, qualified to be nuns in real life. Another unforgetable memory was that of me waiting for our next class period at the lobby of the 2nd floor high school building. I remember talking with the other girls (Peachy, Rina, Tarita, Daisy…) about the cute adjutant officer with the commanding voice yelling “manatiliiiiiii!!!” at the school plaza. Who would have thought that many years after, he will become my husband.:-)” -Gemma de la Cruz-Solite, Tacloban City.

“I remember the school swing when I was a freshman in high-school. My friends and I were sitting jam-packed on the swing, not thinking of the danger that it could collapse. Do you remember that swing? It was made of metal…or was it a seesaw? Now I’m not sure:-). As a sophomore, I distinctly recall giving a token to my crush during the GS Valentines Dance which was liberating and loved the volleyball group which Lynda initiated. Senior year was a lot of things, graduation… first heartbreak and saying good bye to dear friends.” -Anonymous, USA.

“What comes to mind when I recall my formative years at LSC/LNU was learning to do business by selling home made yema, pad paper (may 1/4, 1/2 and 1 whole) and running after the utangs. I have vivid memories of my cucharitas plot in grade 1 because they were always dying so I had to force my poor Dad to go to LNU on Sundays to replant new cutcharitas.  I loved the very competitive jackstone tournaments, Chinese garter and bulangkoy (which I wasn’t good at), not to mention the unforgettable camaraderie which developed into friends for life. Worth mentioning also was when I was grade 3 or 4 when I was tasked by Mrs. Villas to organize and direct a play with the participation of the entire class. My effort was rewarded by the finished play and the unforgettable acting of Percival Paciencia.” -Vanessa Kathleen B. Cainghug, Metro Manila.

“I have such wonderful memories of our high school years at LNU/LSC. The lifelong friends I have been blessed with, the wise guidance from my teachers, as well as my time as a minorette with the band will be memories I cherish forever. Spending four years learning about life and the world with such amazing people is more than a person could ever expect, but exactly what I had the good fortune of experiencing.” -Tarita Torres-Castro, USA.

“I have so many unforgettable memories in HS. For one, I am so proud that during our Sophomore year, our Music class under Mrs. Abesamis organized a very successful music concert showcasing our ability as a unified class to lead, plan, perform and produce a whole Musical production to the school community. That same year our batch won the championship for our annual HS Intramurals. I also cherish fond memories of our Girl Scouting days pitching tents and learning survival skills which developed the camaraderie and bond among us girl classmates.  I still have lingering fond memories of my barkadas frequently hanging out after classes at the Banana Cue place or at the house of Maia Filamor, either having fun gimmicks as a group or practicing dance choreography with Jaime More as our leader.” -May Joy Retes-Gilberg, USA.

“Feels like yesterday when I was a giddy high school teacher of LSC in the 80’s.  I was in for a surprise when parents tagged along  for hiking, camping and even in dance activities. Batch 86 was a bunch of sweet teens who loved to stay around after class hours with me at the Academy of the Arts to chat about their crush and puppy love.” -Vicky Arbas-Diaz, Tacloban City.

“My most valuable school experiences were all about people – social skills, respect , empathy,  relationships and most importantly realizing my own potential. Friendly teachers made learning more fun, while others inspired me when they shared their life stories.  There were strict teachers but they taught me discipline and strengthened my character. As different as they are from each other, I learned  something valuable from all of them: You can be wherever you want to be as long as you work hard for it. Hard work and commitment is the way to get from where you are to where you want to be. That was true when I wanted to pass my exams and it’s still true today when I want to lose weight! Thank you my LSC teachers for passing along life lessons and experiences that shaped me into the adult that I am today. -Susan Guiang-de Leon, Metro Manila.

“Right after Sunday afternoon mass at the Redemptorist church, Sheila Jadloc and I proceeded to LSC, taking a shortcut by crossing the clear water of the Mangonbangon creek at the back of the old administration bldg. Apparently both of us could not  resist to taste the tempting sweet peanuts planted at the back of the kindergarten building. As we happily and stealthily dug the legumes, Mano Fred bokaw, the janitor arrived and chased us away. Frantic, we wrapped the peanuts with our skirts as we sped back home. I was terrified because he could report us to our mothers who were both faculty members. But of course, we enjoyed the peanuts afterwards”. -Agnes Albesa, Tacloban City.

“During my years as a student at LNU, I actively participated in extra curricular activities like being a member of the Drum and Bugle Corps, drama club, campus politics, played baseball and soccer while not taking for granted my formal education. Specifically I was one of the narrator of the Sangyaw Pageant during Tacloban Fiesta activities and leadership trainings outside the campus. Leyte Normal which we fondly call is an institution which nurtured us to think freely, excel in skills while exploring new ideas and experiences which connect from campus to a wider community. Thankful for being part of this institution. Once a Normalista, always a Normalista!” -Alnem V. Pretencio, Metro Manila.

“ I learned how to sew and do the different stitches at LNU. I cooked my first fried egg in Ms. Costin’s Home Economics class. Small things we learn from elementary which I consider important life skills.  Quite an awakening for me that household chores and responsibilities are to be shared  by both men and women and/or be gender-neutral” -Mark Molina, California, USA.

“Remember our class with Mr. Quiban?…exam naton nag kakarigomok pan kopya guin papasa pasa an test paper.  Mayda pa adto time mga bubble gum papan latik tipa taas ha atop tapos mahuhulog while nag kla-klase. LNU has quality education which helped me finish two courses later in life: BS Biology in UP Tacloban and BSN in DWU.” -Daisy Rendora Bunales, Tacloban City.

“When I think of Leyte State College I had a lot of students in that laboratory school nga yana magkarit na. I was with Peachy Cinco, Gemma Leonor, Susan Denzon, Lelet Villalino, Manuel Espina, Tessie Laboga, Tessie Quilaga, Jovita Jadloc, Joe Hermosura, Quirino Ragub, Violeta Ledesma , etc. We enjoyed our work as supervising instructors of LSC laboratory school now Leyte Normal University.” -Dr. Nelly Tupaz-Villas, Tacloban City.

“Baga maluya na ada akon memorya hehe. Hunahuna-on ko pa. Aha! adi basta nahinumdum ako nga nakada ako ha drums & bugle corps nga nag champion an LSC han CAT di ba? Tapos, nagka problema adto an banda & CAT officers but han tactical na, excellent perfomance naman an aton na receive. Well… makarit an LSC hadto nga mga panahon.” -Andrew Esmande, Tacloban City.

“During Kindergarten and grades 1-4,  our school name was Leyte Normal Laboratory School.  Do you still remember? Then LSC na.” -Lovel Basada.

“When we were in 5th grade, Jitka, Desiree, Lenita, Norman[?] and I ate our lunch in the classroom. We almost always hurriedly finished our food so that we could go outside and play. And more often than not, nag bubulangkoy kita which I was never good at.  I remember it well because of how gawky I was since my foot-eye coordination was (still is) bad. I still cringe when I think about how funny I must have looked bumbling at bulangkoy.“ -Danny Ballais, Alaska, USA.

Bonding was an essential part of high school.  I remember when we used to play table tennis inside the HRDC using a makeshift table from an ordinary plywood and a racket made from pieces of plywood as well.  Sometimes we got lucky when Michael (Avila), Liando (Barraza) and Edwin (Umacob) will bring their rackets.  There were also times when the HRDC will have a considerable accumulation of water that we will use the movable stage platforms as rafts. CAT days was also fun.  I remember when the boys were “punished” to scrub the female restroom because of some writings. Can’t remember anymore what the writing was all about. What about the time when Michael and Camilo had a fistfight? Or when Rosemelda Tobio cried because our platoon won’t listen to her?!!!” -Nelson Tabungar, USA.

Class photo of Batch 86 (Section 1). Photo: Courtesy of Jucres Sayong

“High school!!! Four years of good memories, laughter, joy and sadness. During my elementary, there was this vaccination. Those who are done may go home.  I remember I was the last one that went out of the classroom, but the health workers did not succeed in giving me a vaccine:-). One of my favorite memories in high school was being a member of the school band: minorette from 2nd-3rd year and majorette in my 4th year.  It was a great experience competing with other schools during the band competition. And the rest was history. “ -Feleche Mae Villaflor, Cebu City.

“Memories… wahahaha one thing diri ako maka limot is Milo. Mag line-up ka tapos ma mimiling kapa way maka inom hin damo. Of course sa classmates nato na ka bulig sila Pewe, Beth han quiz bee, presentations like Snow-White and the 7 dwarfs and you, (Jitka) of course ma isog labi na kung naka-assign ha imo ang ruler ni Mrs villas ba adto grade 1 kita.:-) Wahahaha damo gad good memories to say pero bangin halaba na hin duro diri ko ma tapos in 5 sentences. Also, I’m proud of all the teachers na under kita /ako. I learned a lot, labi na ha discipline. I can’t forget nga na player pa gud kami ni Manuel Arbas ha Palaro ada adto for tennis and badminton. Tapos an mga flying chalks and erasers ha classroom wahahaha… And ang bell kung nakaka cr gin riring.” -Lloyd Gantuangko, Cebu City.

“The main door of the laboratory school building holds a special place in my heart..this elicits a lot of memories, especially that it was my ‘refuge’ from unwanted vaccinations for a needle-fearing moi.” -Meiko Jimeno-Griego, Tacloban City.

“I remembered that we were together along with other cast of the “Nutcracker”. Jitka, Desiree and Perlie were so beautiful dancing flawlessly..never forgotten that we danced kuratsa at the JS prom..accumulated almost Php 400.00 pesos in a handkerchief tossed on the floor.” -Aldrino Trinidad, Tacloban City.

Vivid memories of me playing Chinese garter comes to mind… I also remember being in the fashion show with Jitka, Marna, Estherloida & Linda.  And oh! how can I forget standing in the field with the sun beaming for a long time during CAT? That was brutal. Memorable too was when we went to Bethany Hospital around Christmas time to sing Christmas carol. That was a lot of fun! ” -Charito Delgado-Cooper, USA.

“I am enjoying my retirement but looking back at my earliest years at LNU, I had the distinct privilege of taking part in teacher-training as demonstration teacher at the Laboratory School where I later served as Supervisor/Director.  Here I was also most fulfilled in having worked with pupils and students who could interact with us with facility in the medium of instruction (English).” -Dr. Manuel Espina, Ormoc City.

I often get asked by my American peers if I still have any contacts with my high school classmates even through these years and I always answer, “absolutely, yes!” (with conviction). I always tell them how we were a small class and it made us closer even up to now. Also, the camaraderie we shared amongst us made our friendships last despite all of us being scattered all over the world. I share my stories with them how we celebrate mini reunions here in the US and major reunions at our beloved school and they were envious of that. I always recall vividly how we had outings and enjoyed parties during weekends and birthdays of our classmates and how we just enjoyed life without the trappings of modern technology and social media. Those days, I will always miss.” -Joseph G. Garnace, USA.

“I distinctly remember that I had to set up a portable sound system (discorobo) for a music class (Batch 1985) at the gym.  This required that I go up and position the discorobo onstage.  As soon as I was up, suddenly the high-school class clapped their hands just for fun.  Immediately… Prof. Elsie Abellera shouted at them to be quiet and just like that, the room was filled with silence. I was very new then at LNU.  I thought that I was going to be humiliated on stage but thanks to a feisty female professor, the fresh, happy go-lucky bunch of high-school students was disciplined.” -Jose M. Encina, Jr., Tacloban City.

“I remember when one of the officers of the CAT asked for a copy of a song entitled, “If You’re Not Here” by Menudo. I didn’t have an idea what they were talking about and that there was such a boy band called Menudo. I thought the Menudo boy band was a joke so I bought a song hits to check them out.” -Anonymous, Cebu City.

“One memory that comes to mind was a scheduled earthquake drill at LNU but the real earthquake shook us an hour earlier. We performed the duck, cover and hold and evacuated Brillo Hall  2 times during that day.  Another unforgettable memory was after choir/theater practice at 6pm and beyond. I would run and avoid turning my head towards Brillo Hall for fear that I might see Elizabeth, the rumored resident white lady.  Lastly, was when the ramp of HRDC was filled with mountain soil. There was an instance that I skipped classes to enjoy molding clay into different shapes.” -Charlie Ripalda, Tacloban City.

“Coming in as a new sophomore student  in LSC, and starting in July at that, I had a lot of catching up to do. Being in the Earth Science class was very intimidating as I was told that these students had to qualify for the class by obtaining high grades in Math and Science in the previous school year. I thought to myself “So these are the smart kids”. No wonder I felt like a minnow swimming amongst sharks. They turned out to be friendly sharks after all, and soon I stopped being intimidated and started learning. Fast forward some 25 years later… I went home for an Alumni Homecoming. While waiting to board my domestic flight for Tacloban, I see Dr. Onate, my Earth Science teacher. I was so surprised that he still recognized me.” -Lulu Castillote-Mathews, USA.

“In my elementary years at Leyte Normal School, it was my daily habit to swing by at the Banana Que street vendor located at the left side of LNS, almost in front of the Arts Building. There were 2 popular banana-que spots, but my suki was the lady on the left. I can still remember the taste, the texture and aroma of the sweet syrup. Aside from my favorite snack, the boys and I also raved and were passionate about playing our favorite past time sport – SOCCER. The field in front of the high-school building was our zone where we get to be ourselves: equals just having fun. Regardless of the weather, we were there everyday, running, chasing that ball, and dreaming of scoring against our adversaries.” -Liando Raoul T. Barraza, Canada.

I can still remember when I was in grade 6 with Mr. Manuel Espina as my teacher. I enjoyed the math exercise given to us. Window cards equivalent to 100 items in just 5 minutes. I would finish getting the highest score or sometimes perfect score of 100 with the least time. Thank you LSC/LNU for the good quality education you have given us. It was really a good foundation for every pupil/student. I salute you LSC/LNU. Shout out to the Alrabiah boys of Jubail, Saudi Arabia!” -Leo O. Kintana, Jubail KSA.

”Walking down memory lane, I vividly remember playing sipa during break time tapos “pasikatay” wearing our Gregg shoes, the “uso” (popular) shoes at that time.  How can I forget our recess enjoying our fave spaghetti at Farena’s eatery along Independencia street? Tapos, remember our English class with Mrs. Jesusa de Veyra? Kita always it magsapit due to our surnames: “Tupa and Tupaz” and then gin kukuha naton and flat tops chocolate na baligya han aton classmate seated in front of us.  Sorry, I forgot her name na.  Lastly, Mrs. Abellera scolded us in her Music class because we were talkative and she thought we were sharing answers for the quiz.” -Geneva Tupaz, Cebu City.

“Leyte State College, my alma mater had superb and knowledgeable teachers and a school environment that provided great balance between academics and extra-curricular activities like sports, home-economics and the arts.  Most of the teachers were very supportive and approachable when there was a need for interaction.  LSC brings out the best from its students-then and now which can be attributed to its competent teachers who encouraged their students to be independent… producing confident and professional individuals ready for work in the real world. I always tell my kiddos that my school in elementary and high school is very comparable to what they have here in North America, and I can attest to that. Di tayo kulelat. Also, my best memory in LSC was every Wednesday when there was no school. It was the time we can hangout with our favorite classmates and watch movies.  I also remember Jitka- smart, bright and she didn’t like boys. Nakikipag-punite pa, baga hiya hin karate kid, pero with poise and beauty naman. I remember our class with Miss Costin, the mom of our classmate Randolf. We had a drama project, teleserye style with a family matter subject. Jitka is the mom and Von Lito is the dad. 2 classmates and I are the kiddos. You know what because nag away hira ni Von Lito, iya ako guin replace kan Von as the dad. It makes me laugh so hard:-)”  -Benjie Laraya, Vancouver, Canada.

“I do have the funniest memories at LSC hehehe. I was in 2nd or 3rd year in high school…selling polvoron and yema.  During classes, I put the container full of goodies under my chair. Before I knew it…it was missing na!. Everybody at the back ate them … especially the boys … Neil, Dondi, Liando, Pewee ug Bonjing. Lugi ako kay waray na bayad. Bangkarote ako. Utang la pa gud adto an akon capital. Tsk.tsk. Another fond memory was of Jitka. Basta! She kept insisting na libre-hon daw niya ako hin snacks provided I go with her. So that afternoon, during recess time namon, she said to me “Ren, kalakat kita. Let’s eat siopao ha Diners Court  Resto Bar” (along Juan Luna street beside GSIS building) So nag-baktas kami nga duha to that resto and we enjoyed eating hot siopao. Amo na late kami han amon classes for a few minutes, tungod hit nga marasa nga siopao ha Diners Court!” -Renniedel Palaña-Moquia, USA.

“It was late afternoon… we were in the 2nd floor stairway landing, where students were seated on broken metal armchairs.  On the wall was a broken light switch with loose wires protruding. We know that that has a live wire. A classmate saw it and he jokingly winked at me and signaled that he was going to prod the wire with his finger. We observed that some classmates and schoolmates were touching the metal of the armchair while having their chitchat. I gave him a nod and distanced myself from everybody while classmate prod the livewire of the light switch with his finger while his other hand held one of the armchairs. Instantly everyone had an electric shock which made them angry at us, but we all had a good laugh!!. -Anonymous, Planet Earth.

“I always thought I was the “good girl” but sometimes my memory can be wrong. I also thought I was quiet in elementary school, but it is a fact that I had my mouth taped shut by two teachers to silence me.  So that theory failed. hahaha:-) In my grade-4 report card, I remember my teacher, Mr. Mateo’s comment about me:  “She is quick to share her answers with her seatmate.”  To this day, I still can’t decide if that was positive criticism or not, hehehe. I recall not really liking to stand up and participate in class, but I preferred coaching my seat mate instead by giving out the right answers. Lol. Napaka shy kuno.” -Marna Tabao-Abarientos, USA.

One of my fondest recollections of my grade school years was participating in the ‘speech choir’ with our amazing English teacher, Ms. Peachy Cinco. We learned the timeless classic  ‘Caps for Sale’ which tells a story of a peddler and mischievous monkeys. How I remember those lines we creatively chanted with voices that brings the story to life: ’Caps…caps for sale…Fifty cents a cap!’  This story was full of warmth, humor and simplicity which influenced my mindset about treating life light-heartedly regardless of challenges and adversities. Hence, I’m grateful to be part of LNU academic training particularly on the literary arts.” -Rowena Natan-Mangrobang, USA.

“My memory is blurry…but I vaguely remember the soccer games. We were a strong team and it was a school tournament played inside the campus. We were quite happy to get a sponsor, courtesy of my father, who negotiated with his friend who owns a hardware store in Tacloban. Our uniform? Plain white shirt with a picture of Boysen paint in front! The game was fun especially when your team is on the side of the old brillo building. You know why? We had two more players – but they were in fixed positions because they were actually two huge acacia trees that obstruct the view of our goal. So funny too was the concert that never happened. It was probably one of those foundation days in high school. Our contribution was to play as a band and we practiced ‘Hotel California’. My goodness…I can’t remember who my bandmates were. We disbanded even before that fateful day we were supposed to perform.” -Jesus M. Macasil, Geneva, Switzerland.

“I have an unforgettable memory….an almost near death experience but it seems funny every time I recall the memory.  It was during our 3rd year in high school. Edilberta “Bedel” Abit, Lea Limpiado and myself went to San Antonio, Basey, Samar. We went there to make a project for one of our elective subjects, Natural Science. On the way to Basey, disaster took place when the boat we were riding almost capsized because of a sudden strong wind that blew on one side.  Funny in the sense that we did that activity just to be able to pass a certain subject— and we almost perished because of it.” -Solita V. Baluran-Labaclado, Tacloban City.

The LSC gate vividly reminds me of a very funny experience while I was a grade schooler.  One time, my mother forgot to fetch me so I decided to walk home by myself.  When I reached the Singzon gasoline station, I heard my mother call my name to hop in our car. Another memory is that of the oval where we used to hold our mass calisthenics.  One day I won the hula-hoop contest but forgot what the price was!  Last but not the least is our CAT with Mr. Basa.  I found the drills and the tactical inspection so fun and challenging!” -Marissa Baguna-Amago, Bacoor, Cavite.

“Being a graduate of the Leyte State College Integrated  Lab. School has brought many advantages to me.  Not only because of the academic training I received, but also because it was in LSC that I had the chance to be molded into a well-rounded person. The beautiful and meaningful experiences to which I was exposed to while I was in my beloved alma mater played a significant role in the kind of person that I am today.” -Genevieve A. Elona, Tanauan Leyte.

“I remember Mr. Quirino Ragub fondly also. He was assigned to be my coach for Quiz Bee but he had to beg off cause he was busy. He endorsed me to another teacher, who told me to read “History of the Filipino People” by Zaide, cover to cover. After classes every afternoon, I would sit inside the parked white van and TRIED to read. Then I would see you guys playing and I always ended up playing with you. One afternoon, Mr. Ragub caught me playing Chinese garter (pirmi ako napapahamak for playing this game). He asked me about my review for the quiz bee. When he learned that I had read only a few pages, he was so worried. He took over as coach again and made all those review questions on small index cards. That’s how we got to the national level.” -Elizabeth Riel-Hollero.


We are just few of the millions of students and faculty who studied and worked at Leyte Normal University.  Wherever you are now in this world, whatever stature in life you are in… I hope that  reading the memories in this blog will inspire you to remember your own fond memories of this school. Each one of us is just a speck of memory in that 100 years but together we have all made a difference in this world, one way or another.  So I join all Normalistas in saying: Congratulations LNU for 100 years of excellent service and providing quality education all these years!

The world is my oyster thanks to LNU who instilled in me the gift of communication, grace and heart to become a business woman and have the confidence to explore the world as travel blogger, FlyingOff-Course.

One thought on “Becoming Leyte Normal University: A Journey of a Hundred Years

  1. The author is my classmate from my stay at Leyte Normal University. LNU started during the pre-war era when the Philippines was an American territory, and perhaps the early teachers of the institution were from the US. Leyte Normal School as it was first known to me was famous for its proficiency in English even with the elementary grade students. I grew up in a household that speaks “Waray” and didn’t speak English before I entered school. When I entered as a 1st-grader, the school changed its name to Leyte State College so I spent 10 years calling my alma mater LSC. I have reached the golden age of 50 years and we commemorate the school’s centenary today by sharing our memories of those formative years along with my classmates, friends and teachers. Our shared fond memories of naughty incidents, favorite childhood haunts or precious gifts of learning, are all memorable experiences that helped shape who we are today. Thanks to the author for this blog. Congratulations to LNU, a Center of Excellence for Teacher Education, for 100 years of service to Tacloban City (Region VIII). Cheers to LSC Batch 82-86.

    Like

Comments are closed.